Good food

That’s exactly what you need on Valentine’s day..

Hi everyone,

I hope you had a wonderful St Valentine’s weekend, no matter if you were celebrating or not. In fact, I’m not a big fan of Valentine’s day and instead of going to a restaurant we discovered that both my boyfriend and I would rather prefer staying at home and making our own meal.

For our dinner we cooked (alright, here I need to give credits to my boyfriend as he did 95% of the cooking), so Josh cooked a Goulash. A very Easter European version of it, with mashed potatoes and sour cream, that made me feel very homey.

Very Viktorija - Pork goulash with mashed potatoes and sour cream
Pork goulash with mashed potatoes and sour cream

To serve four people you will need:

  • Onions –  2
  • Fresh peppers – 2
  • A pack of fresh parsley
  • Chopped tomatoes in a tin – we bought 400g of Napolina
  • Red wine vinegar – 150ml
  • Sour cream – 200ml
  • Chargrilled peppers – 200g
  • Decent size pork shoulder

We chopped and mixed peppers and onions and let them cook in a pan for around 10 minutes. I would also suggest getting peppers with different colours, to make your meal more colourful.

Season the meat and let it cook in a pan for 15 minutes. I thought I’d have a special paragraph for seasoning as it is very important to add a good mix of flavours to this meal. Josh seasoned pork with salt and pepper as well as basil and oregano. We added paprika and caraway seeds to the vegetable mix (mentioned above).

Very Viktorija - Herbs and spices
Herbs and spices

We then put everything into a slow cooker and added 300ml of water and left it for 5 hours. Honestly, slow cooking is one of the best things that ever happened to me. At the end the meat was very tender and food was full of flavours.

Very Viktorija - Meal in a slow cooker
Meal in a slow cooker

As I said, we decided to make it Eastern European and had it with mashed potatoes and sour cream, but you can also have it with rice and use lamb instead of pork.

This was one of the best meals I had in ages and it actually is quite easy to make. I hope you can also try and make it yourself one day.

With love,

Viktorija

5 thoughts on “That’s exactly what you need on Valentine’s day..

      1. Not at all, I would be more than happy for you to cook one of my recipes and review it! Thank you very much Victorija for the nice words and fingers crossed!
        Best wishes,
        Alice

        Like

Leave a Reply

