Good food

Clean & Lean 3 ingredient salad

Hi there,

Last week I mentioned that I’ve become more aware about the food I’m eating. I don’t need to make drastic changes to my diet but I do feel that I want to make more conscious choices when choosing the food for my meals. Around a year ago my flatmate bought this book ‘Clean & Lean diet’ by James Dulgan and his wife and I recently rediscovered on our book shelf.

This book has some very interesting thoughts on what healthy eating is all about. One idea in particular has struck me, on the first few pages James says – think how you want to feel after you’ve finished your meal?. Do you want to feel stuffed and tired or do you want to be energised and feel good. I thought that this is an excellent way of thinking when choosing your food for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and so  this weekend Josh and I decided to make something new.

We both were keen to try new foods for some time, and funny enough, we haven’t had a butternut squash before. Therefore, this 3 ingredient salad seemed like a perfect opportunity to start our exploration path.

Squash, fets and broccoli salad

To make this Roast Squash with Feta and Sprouting Broccoli salad, you will need to start with the squash. We peeled it and cut into large chunks and wedges.

Squash

We then tossed the chunks in olive oil with herbs and spices, including salt, pepper,  a bit of sage and chili flakes.I love experimenting with spices. If you’re making this salad, you can start with the spices I listed above but also free to add other flavours and let me know if this works particularly well for you.

Josh's putting spices

We have put the squash in the oven for 30 mins that was preheated to 200C or gas mark 6. If you’re cutting your squash in small pieces, you can roast it for 20-25 mins.

I then cut the broccoli and feta cheese, whilst Josh prepared a lamb steak. Instead of frying the meat, we used the grill machine. This helped us to avoid the use of oil and let the meat cook in it’s own juice.

The meal

The mixture of flavours in the salad was incredible, I think  neither of us expected that. The meat has come out tender and juicy and we’ll definitely be cooking this again!

Let me know if you would like to share your favourite healthy recipes.

Best,

Viktorija

 

Leave a Reply

